Regional Council of Kainuu is a member in several international networks.


The Association of European Border Regions (AEBR) provides a good forum for cooperation with other European border regions. Regional Council of Kainuu is a member of the network through the Euregio Karelia co-operation area formed by three Finnish regions and the Republic of Karelia.

Covenant of Mayors

After the adoption, in 2008, of the 2020 EU Climate and Energy Package, the European Commission launched the Covenant of Mayors to endorse and support the efforts deployed by local authorities in the implementation of sustainable energy policies. Covenant of Mayors is a unique bottom-up movement that succeeded in mobilising a great number of local and regional authorities to develop action plans and direct investments towards climate change mitigation measures. The Kainuu region decided to join the Covenant of Mayors (CoM) by a decision on 28th April 2014.


NEEBOR (The Network on Eastern External Border Regions) is a wide European initiative aimed at the collaboration of regions from European Union countries on its external borders. The 33 regions from 11 European Union member countries work together and elaborate joint actions for their common challenges. The network wants to practice efficient regional policy based on solidarity.


The NSPA (Northern Sparsely Populated Areas) network represents close collaboration between the four northernmost counties of Sweden (Norrbotten, Västerbotten, Jämtland, Västernorrland), the seven northernmost and eastern regions of Finland (Lapland, Northern Ostrobothnia, Central Ostrobothnia, Kainuu, North Karelia, Pohjois-Savo and Etelä-Savo) and North Norway (Finnmark, Troms and Nordland). The above mentioned regions have many characteristics in common. The network works together to raise awareness of the region in the EU institutions, influence EU policies and provide a platform for sharing best practises.

Northern Dimension

Northern Dimension (ND) is an instrument of cooperation between four equal partners, the European Union, Russia, Norway and Iceland. Geographically, the ND covers North-West Russia, the Baltic Sea and the Arctic regions, including the Barents region.

The Northern Dimension policies seek to support stability, wellbeing and sustainable development in the region by means of practical cooperation. In addition to governments, universities, research institutes and the business community also participate in the ND policies. The ND policies’ bodies convene on a regular basis to discuss the development the joint policies. Partner countries’ MPs also meet every other year at a Northern Dimension Parliamentary Forum to discuss the development of the activities.

ND cooperation takes place within four partnerships: Environmental Partnership (NDEP), Partnership in Public Health and Social Well-being (NDPHS), Partnership on Transport and Logistics (NDPTL) and Partnership on Culture (NDPC).

Kainuu is a member at the Northern Dimension Partnership on Transport and Logistics, which was founded in October 2009. It is envisaged that the NDPTL will accelerate the implementation of major infrastructure projects providing with assistance in project preparation stage thus stimulating investments within the Northern Dimension region. The partnership also serves as a regional forum for transport and logistics issues, and complements the work of cooperation structures already in existence.

The overall goal of the Partnership is to improve, in compliance with the ecological needs of the region, major transport connections and logistics in the Northern Dimension region in order to stimulate sustainable economic growth at the local, regional and global level by focusing on a limited number of priorities that reflect both regional and national priorities in balanced way.

Other kinds of activities are pursued through the Northern Dimension Institute (NDI) and the Northern Dimension Business Council (NDBC).

Contact Us!